How to Create an ITIL 4 Framework for Government

CDW’s Mary Bouska and Erin Hollings had describe the ITIL framework as “a voluntary set of best practises for enterprises to follow in order to guarantee that their IT services are aligned with the demands of the business,” respectively. What I’m saying is that it’s neither prescriptive nor proprietary.

ITIL 4 was the first major update to the framework since 2007 and “essentially stresses the same values and goals as earlier editions,” according to Bouska and Hollings had.

How to Build an ITIL 4 Foundation

Axelos has published a 122-page ITIL Foundation, ITIL 4 Edition whitepaper that provides a lot of information for organisations who are adopting ITIL 4.

“The ITIL 4 provides organisations with a more stable IT infrastructure, increased customer service, lower costs, and better understanding of risks,” ServiceNow claims on its website. Automating procedures, improving cooperation and communication, and integrating and expanding service management outside IT (like HR, finance, customer support, etc.) are some of the main focuses of ITIL 4’s methodology. ‘

ITIL Foundation describes a management practise as “a collection of organisational resources designed for executing work or accomplishing an aim,” according to an e-book on ITIL 4 by Service Now.

Based on general management techniques that have been adopted and modified for service management from general business management domains, as well as “service management practises that have been created in the service management and ITSM sectors,” ServiceNow states.

This includes information security and knowledge management, as well as risk management, IT Asset Management (ITAM), Change Control, Service Desk and Infrastructure and Platform Management (ITIL 4).”

Additionally, “technical management principles [that] have been applied to IT services by extending or transferring their focus from technology solutions to IT services,” ServiceNow claims, is another basic feature of ITIL 4.

In ITIL4, there are four dimensions of service management.

The four aspects of the Service Value System are applicable to all of its components (SVS). It is possible to provide low quality or inefficient services if all four dimensions are not taken into account. Alternatively, services may not be given at all. Unpredictable interactions can occur between the four dimensions. To give you a sense of scale, here are the measurements in inches

1. People and organisations

The complexity of organisations is increasing in today’s environment. Establishing clear lines of authority and communication inside an organisation is critical to its success. This includes the business’s organisational structure, management style and systems of authority.

2. The use of computers and other technological devices

Information and technology are the second component of service management. It’s not just about managing a service; it’s about managing the service itself.

3. Suppliers and Partners

Partners and suppliers are the third component of service management. Every service supplied by an organisation relies to some extent on the services provided by other organisations.

4. Streams and processes of value creation and distribution

Four dimensions of service management are value streams and procedures. SVS in general and specific goods and services can benefit from this dimension of value streams and processes.

Number of ITIL credentials

In order to become an ITIL certified professional, you must first pass the ITIL Foundation exam by Sprintzeal. Designed to educate beginners the fundamentals of ITIL 4 and to verify that even seasoned professionals have the underlying knowledge to progress to more advanced certifications, it is an entry-level certification,” the brochure states.

This certification is comprised of four separate modules that focus on delivering tech-enabled services, supporting IT-enabled goods and services, enhancing stakeholder satisfaction, and incorporating agile technologies such as the cloud and automation into the IT landscape, per BMC. Service management is a broad term that includes everything a service provider does with its clients and users, suppliers and partners. BMC describes itself as a set of practical and technical resources that “provides expertise on how to operate effective IT-enabled services, teams and workflows.”

Strategic Leader certification is “for all digitally enabled services in the organisation, not just IT operations,” according to CIO and it “focuses on how IT affects and informs business strategy,” CIO says. The ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve module and the ITIL Leader: Digital & IT Strategy module are required for this qualification.

CIO says that ITIL Master certification requires “at least five years’ experience working in IT service management in a leadership, management, or senior management advisory level” to qualify for the certification.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button